Thomas Emde

Artist.

Inventor.

Entrepreneur.

Thomas Emde started his artistic career as a painter. The materiality and perception of color quickly became the focus of his work.

Light soon appeared as an additional element: color and daylight were intermingled to create environments of colored light. The concentration on the medium of light, as the immaterial vehicle for conveying color, was the next logical step. Alongside smaller light objects, beginning at the end of the 1990s he executed numerous architecturally-related light art projects both at home and abroad. Thomas Emde has devoted himself exclusively to artistic architectural lighting since 1999, maintaining offices in Frankfurt am Main and Doha (Qatar).

The underlying approach Thomas Emde invariably pursues for an architectural lighting project is to first define the light conditions of the area or structure and then develop the correspondingly ideal methods of technical implementation. This approach has allowed for the development of new product solutions and numerous now-patented, innovative lighting technologies.

Biography

Thomas Emde was born 1959 in hessian Korbach. After leaving school he completed an apprenticeship to become a color retoucher at the publishing house of the Frankfurter Rundschau. In 1993, he began his studies of Fine Arts at the Art University Kassel, continued them in 1985 at the Berlin University of Arts, where he completed his studies in 1990, being part of the master class program of Kuno Gonschior.
In 1990, he attained the yearly announced scholarship of the Jürgen-Ponto-Stiftung and the city of Frankfurt/Main, where Thomas Emde lives and works ever since.

After a successful international career as an artist he began working intensely with light as a medium and material for his projects. In 1999 he founded the company emdelight, realizing numerous large-scale architectural lighting projects. His extraordinary success in the Middle East led in 2011 to a second office in Doha, the capital of Qatar.

Thomas Emde and his team decided in 2013 to henceforth devote themselves to the development and marketing of interior lighting. It is their goal to create people-friendly “good light” and act against the increasing light pollution. In autumn of that same year, Thomas Emde founded the company emdedesign GmbH and the luminary brand for the above stated purpose.

Since 2015, Thomas Emde and his company have been partners in national and EU-wide R & D projects in the field of OLED technology, where new applications and usage possibilities are developed. As an initiator, he co-founded the OLED-Licht Forum in 2018 together with Merck AG and Osram.

Thomas Emde

Künstler.

Erfinder.

Unternehmer.

Thomas Emde begann seine künstlerische Karriere als Maler. Schon früh stand die Auseinandersetzung mit Materialität und Wahrnehmung von Farbe im Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeiten.

Bald trat das Licht als zusätzliches Element hinzu: Farbe und Tageslicht wurden zu Farblichträumen kombiniert. Die Konzentration auf das Medium Licht – verstanden als immaterieller Träger von Farbe – war der nächste, folgerichtige Schritt. Neben kleineren Lichtobjekten entstanden ab Ende der 1990er Jahre zahlreiche architekturbezogene Lichtkunstprojekte im In- und Ausland. Ab 1999 widmete sich Thomas Emde ausschließlich der künstlerischen Architekturbeleuchtung und unterhielt Büros in Frankfurt und Doha/Katar.

Seinen Projekten zur Architekturbeleuchtung legte Thomas Emde stets den Anspruch zugrunde, zuerst die Lichtwirkung des Ortes oder Gebäudes zu definieren und dann die hierfür perfekte technische Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten zu entwickeln. Aus diesem Ansatz heraus entstanden neue Produktlösungen und zahlreiche Patente für die Anwendung innovativer Lichttechnologien.

Biografie

Thomas Emde wurde 1959 im hessischen Korbach geboren. Nach der Schule schloss er eine Ausbildung zum Farbretuscheur beim Verlag der Frankfurter Rundschau ab, bevor er 1983 sein Studium der Freien Kunst an der Hochschule für Bildende Kunst in Kassel begann. Von dort aus wechselte er 1985 an die HdK (heute UdK) Berlin, wo er 1990 sein Abschluss als Meisterschüler der Klasse Gonschior ablegte. Ein Atelierstipendium der Jürgen-Ponto-Stiftung und der Stadt Frankfurt am Main brachte ihn 1990 nach Frankfurt, wo er seitdem lebt und arbeitet.

Nach einer international erfolgreichen Karriere als Maler begann er gegen Ende der 1990er Jahre, sich immer intensiver mit Licht als Medium und Material auseinanderzusetzen. 1999 gründete er die Firma emdelight, mit der er zahlreiche Großprojekte der künstlerischen Architekturbeleuchtung realisierte. Sein außerordentlicher Erfolg im Mittleren Osten führte 2011 zur Eröffnung eines zweiten Büros in Katars Hauptstadt Doha.

2013 beschloss Thomas Emde, sich fortan mit seinem Team der Erforschung und Entwicklung von Anwendungen und Produkten der OLED-Technologie zu widmen, mit dem Ziel, gutes Licht für die Menschen und dem Planeten Erde zu erschaffen. Zu diesem Zweck gründete er im Herbst desselben Jahres die emdedesign GmbH und das Lichtlabel OMLED.

Seit 2015 ist Thomas Emde mit seinem Unternehmen Verbundpartner in nationalen und EU-weiten FuE-Projekten im Bereich der OLED-Technologie, in denen neue Anwendungs- und Einsatzmöglichkeiten entwickelt werden.
2016 brachte er unter dem Label OMLED die weltweit erste Leuchtenfamilie auf OLED-Basis auf den Markt, die mit international renommierten Designpreisen ausgezeichnet wurde.
Als Mitgründer / Mitinitiator rief er 2018 u.a. gemeinsam mit der Merck AG und Osram das OLED-Licht Forum ins Leben.